Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco UCS B-Servies : Boot Policy and Booting From SAN

rumak18
Level 1
Level 1

Hi folks,

sorry, but i just don't get it. How works the BOOT from SAN. I'm new to UCS. We have here 4 Hyper-V Servers and are configured with a Boot Policy for SAN booting with "vHBAs". Here i find the "Lun Name" in 4 entries (San primary-prim/sec and San secondary - prim/sec) but all have the same LUN Name "0". So ... all my 4 servers boot from the same image? I cannot believe it as there are four LUNs created on the storage deice itself called "hyper-v_lun1" , "hyper-v_lun2", "hyper-v_lun3" , ""hyper-v_lun4": So... how the hell do my hyper-v servers on the UCS boot from SAN? Where can i see my operating system? How can i find it? It's just so odd for me when coming from the VMWare world with "basic" rack servers.

3 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Hello,

Who masks it?

The masking will be done on the end storage device (so in our example the NetApp array).

Think of it like when you plug in a USB to your machine (add a new LUN), you give it an available ID like it will be the J: drive (or LUN 1, 2, 3, etc.).

What is 'this side of the fabric'?

Typically in an FC environment you have two completely separate fabrics to try and limit any failures to only part of your environment. That way if some issue does come up all of your devices don't experience a total outage, but may only lose half of their active paths. Typically it would be the A and B fabric, and they are usually on separate VSANs (if you are using Cisco gear).

Do you mean configuration on the storage device? (I think this is the last question.)