cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Trying to Set up an SPA122 ATA by connecting it to a Huawei Router which is connected to my NBN modem via ethernet Cable

Hi,
I am new to setting up the SPA122 ATA device and I am having some issues:

I am wanting to replace my existing router linking my network to the NBN (broadband) modem as I want to move to a Netgear Nighthawk router but it does not have a VOIP port like the Haewei HG659. Unfortunately my connection attempts have not been successful. 

Thinking that this may because of  hardware issues that I am using I thought that I would ask  the community.

My network consists of:

• Broadband modem
  • Huawei Router with connects to additional:
  • Routers and well as desk tops and laptops directs via ethernet or wifi connections
  • Telephone syste is a Uniden wireless system with the base station connected via standard phone cable to the entry point (currently Huawei, but want to move it to the SPA122

When I connect the devices, I can see that the following lights are green without blinking.

• System
  • Phone 1
  • Internet

When I pick up one of my Uniden hand sets and press the talk button, the 4th light comes up green, but remains blinking.  I cannot hear any dial tone on the phone.

I have tried to get to the web page but the SPA122's default web page is not available.

I tried using the Uniden hand set to to try the IVR codes, but that connection does not seem to work either.

What I a trying to understand is if I am am trying to set up the SPA122 with a hardware environment that it is not compatiable with either connecting directly to a router rather that a PC or where the Uniden wireless handsets are an issue, even thoughthe base station is connected by cable.

If anyone has any suggestions I would appreciate it.

Cheers

David

1 Reply 1

Dan Lukes
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Start with this: