Helpful
Replies

ASA 5510 & Windows XP VPN Client

kevinstauffer
Level 1
Level 1

I want to use the Windows XP VPN client to connect to the ASA

for VPN access
.  I have read document after document and I just can not get it to work.  It seems that it passes Phase 1 but I can't get Phase 2.  In the ASDM logs it shows that I get some QM FSM Errorsand on the Windows XP machine I get an error 789.  I have set the preshared key on the XP machine accordingly, and other seurity measures.

I'm quite new to the L2TP method of VPN, I have always used Windows Server for VPN and now I'm finding out why.  Anyway, I'm sure I'm missing some info that is needed to diagnose, but here is a copy of my config.

I hope someone can point me in the right direction to figure this out as I'm pulling my hair out!

Many thanks in advance!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

padatta
Level 1
Level 1

This transform set is set for mode transport but not used.

crypto ipsec ikev1 transform-set TRANS_ESP_3DES_SHA esp-3des esp-sha-hmac
crypto ipsec ikev1 transform-set TRANS_ESP_3DES_SHA mode transport

First we need to ensure that this is being used in list of transform sets in 'crypto dynamic-map SYSTEM_DEFAULT_CRYPTO_MAP 65535 set ikev1 transform-set ..........'. L2TP/IPSec requires this mode.

If it still fails, try to obtain the following debugs while connecting your client.

debug crypto isa 127

debug crypto ipsec

debug aaa common 127

Paps

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6

padatta
Level 1
Level 1

This transform set is set for mode transport but not used.

crypto ipsec ikev1 transform-set TRANS_ESP_3DES_SHA esp-3des esp-sha-hmac
crypto ipsec ikev1 transform-set TRANS_ESP_3DES_SHA mode transport

First we need to ensure that this is being used in list of transform sets in 'crypto dynamic-map SYSTEM_DEFAULT_CRYPTO_MAP 65535 set ikev1 transform-set ..........'. L2TP/IPSec requires this mode.

If it still fails, try to obtain the following debugs while connecting your client.