cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Wireless Solution for an apartment complex

scorcher821
Level 1
Level 1

I am a contractor setting up a wireless network in an apartment complex. I want the entire wireless network to comly with 802.11n stardards. The complex spans about a half mile across by a half mile from the road to the back. There are 42 buildings. I want to have a wireless AP (or possibly a device that will simply propagate the signal without making a new network - perhaps some sort of repeater?) in/on (if we decide to use outdoor APs) the buildings. The signal will originate in the main office almost exactly in the middle of the complex. Is this an appropriate design for this scenario? Also, would anyone have a product reccmomendation to be made for either the main router, or the AP/repeater for each building? Is putting one in each building overkill? Price is an issue with this project, but I want to make sure to have a robust enough network that should one AP/repeater stop funcitoning, there will be some parity in the network. Many thanks for all advice/critisism/coments.

Currently I am thinking of using an Aeronet 1141 for each building/every few buildings (where would I determine the range on this model? I'm looking to maintain 50 mbps through out the whole complex) and then a stronger router in the main office (preferably one that does DHCP and does not block any ports, and can be remotely managed).

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

For more information on the range of Cisco 1140 series access point refer the document 2.4GHz - 11n Coverage section of the document

Cisco 1140 Series Access Point Deployment Guide.

View solution in original post

5 Replies 5

Hi,

I have sent this question to some collegaues in charge of wireless solutions. We'll get back to you ASAP.

Marcos Hernandez
Technical Marketing Engineer
Cisco Systems, Inc.