Views
Helpful
Replies

Difference between Mode Button and Reset Button - Cisco 3750 X

mersongeorgep
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I tried to understand the real difference between the Mode button and the reset button I can see on the Cisco 3750.

I looked around the internet and couldn't find a page talk about the reset button, instead, all are talking about the 'resetting the switch to factory default' using Mode button. Can anyone clarify this? what will happen when the reset button is pressed? I got a switch in testbench which someone actually pressed it and now I can't get an output using Putty via Console interface. I wonder what might have happened. I am not an expert in Network.

Thanks in advance

Regards,
MG

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

if your not getting any type of prompt and both buttons are not working you could have a hardware issue as even if it cant get the software up switch puts itself in rommon mode , but if you cant get to the recovery section there's not much you can do

I presume you tested the console and laptop on another device to confirm its not that side just in case

is the device under support ?

View solution in original post

8 Replies 8

Mark Malone
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi

reset on a 3750 ? , I just looked at an X series and G model all I have is the mode button ?

what is the 3750 platform you have with a reset button out of interest  ?

The mode button is what sets it back to default out of the box config , same for 2900 and 3000 series switches

Only use the mode button for factory reset

https://fatmin.com/2014/12/02/how-to-reset-cisco-catalyst-3750-back-to-factory-defaults/

http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/switches/lan/catalyst3750x_3560x/hardware/installation/guide/3750x_3560x_HIG/HGTRBL.html

Resetting the Switch to the Factory Default Settings