cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

is multiple vlans encap in the same EPG possible?

JunSungKim2765
Level 1
Level 1

hi, i'm a ACI newbie.

Is one vlan a one epg, correct?

If i have 50 vlans, should i create 50 EPGs?

I tried to include mutiple vlans into one EPG with static ports.

But the APIC displayed error msg when I included the second vlan into the same EPG.

If i create 50 EPGs, how can i contact among EPGs? Too many contracts are needed and it's hard to manage them.

thank you

best regards

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

RedNectar
VIP
VIP

Hi @JunSungKim2765 ,

No. But ACI is often configured that way.

But the APIC displayed error msg when I included the second vlan into the same EPG.

Without knowing the error, I can't explain this. BUT there are some restrictions on multiple VLANs on the same EPG. 

• You can only statically map one VLAN per EPG per port
    • (You can fudge a 2nd VLAN on the same EPG on a port if you map the 2nd VLAN via the AAEP)
  • A typical scenario where mor that one VLAN is used for an EPG is if a legacy VLAN is mapped to an EPG then a new dynamically mapped VLAN is allocated via a VMM (Virtual Machine Manager)
If i create 50 EPGs, how can i contact among EPGs? Too many contracts are needed and it's hard to manage them.

There are several tools to help

• Master Contracts
  • The Preferred Group
  • Multiple Application Profiles and Contracts with Applicatio Profile scope

RedNectar aka Chris Welsh.
Forum Tips: 1. Paste images inline - don't attach. 2. Always mark helpful and correct answers, it helps others find what they need.

View solution in original post

2 Replies 2

RedNectar
VIP
VIP

Hi @JunSungKim2765 ,

Without knowing the error, I can't explain this. BUT there are some restrictions on multiple VLANs on the same EPG. 

• You can only statically map one VLAN per EPG per port