Views
Helpful
Replies

How to configure Host Interface of FEX

omz
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi

Looking for some guidance on how to configure a host interface on the fex connected to a leaf.

Fex is online .. I need port 101/1/3 to be configured as an access port where I can connect a server.

I am new to aci world.. please correct me if I used the wrong terms or info is not enough.

Do I need an operational host connected to the fex port or I can confirm the config from the GUI without connecting a host?

Thanks

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Sergiu.Daniluk
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi @omz 

Although this is quite an old document (and the version used is 1.1 - stone age in terms of ACI), the steps remains the same:

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/support/docs/cloud-systems-management/application-policy-infrastructure-controller-apic/200529-Configure-a-Fabric-Extender-with-Applica.html  If the FEX is already configured, what you are looking for is the step 2. Configure FEX HIF.

After the access policy was configured, you need to also map the interface to EPG: Tenant -> App_Profile -> EPG -> Static ports (right click) -> Deploy static EPG. Since you are looking for an access port (and I will assume no port-channel / no vpc), you will need to select:

Port type: port 

Name: Leaf 101

Path: Fex-101/eth1/3

Vlan: The access vlan

Deployment immediacy: Immediate

Mode: Access (Untagged)

If you want to make sure that configuration is pushed to Leaf even if the interface is not up, you must select Immediate deployment. Result:

Leaf101# show int e101/1/2 status     
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 Port           Name                Status     Vlan       Duplex   Speed    Type              
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 Eth101/1/2     --                  sfpabsent  trunk      auto     inherit  --