Views
Helpful
Replies

IronPort Feature Keys Expiration

spisipati
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to IronPort and having below queries. Please help,

1. If Feature Keys expired, how the IronPort works?

Feature Keys : 

Outbreak Filters
IronPort Anti-Spam
Sophos Anti-Virus

Do mails go through IronPort, with latest available configuration at the time of expiry (or)

All mails will be blocked / bounced.(or)

Any other...

2. If Management Server crossed its EOL and Feature Keys Expired too, Do management server works?

Feature Keys :

Cisco IronPort Spam Quarantine
Cisco IronPort Centralized Web Configuration Manager
Cisco Centralized Email Reporting
Cisco IronPort Centralized Email Message Tracking

If Yes, at what level... Can we use this server for message tracking and Spam Quarantine

If No, how to do 'message tracking'

7 Replies 7

Libin Varghese
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

1. If feature keys for a scanning engine expire, that particular scanning would not function. Email flow uses "Incoming Mail Handling" feature key. As long as that is active, mail flow would still work.

2. If the feature keys on the management server expire it would no longer accept reporting and tracking information from the ESA. No new data will be sent to the SMA, and the historical data will become unavailable, so the end users will not be able to access their quarantines.

Regards,

Libin Varghese

Hi Libin,

Thanks for the information.

I would like to know what happens, if "Cisco IronPort Spam Quarantine" feature key expires,

1. Does the End user or Administrator have the access to historical spam quarantine emails?

2. Does ESA needs "Spam Quarantine" feature key?

3. Is there any possibility to move Spam quarantined emails from SMA to ESA?

Hello,

When a feature key expires for a service, then that specific service will no longer function. This would be the same for any ESA/SMA/WSA, but excluding any hardware perpetual keys that do not expire.