Views
Helpful
Replies

Signature Set Update and Component Download

mandrews
Level 1
Level 1

Good day,

I'm still learning this product, but I was curious on the Signature Set Update and Component Download(Failure/Success) events. Can someone break down exactly what happens with these events?

Thank you,

Maurice

6 Replies 6

johnosn
Level 1
Level 1

Hello Maurice,

There were six event types that were added into Cisco Secure Endpoint with the Behavior Protection engine (see code block below). Since the Behavior Protection engine runs "on-box" to provide real-time protection (and not in the AMP cloud like the Cloud IOCs which are detect only) it needs to know what to alert on. The four events that you are referring to are the updating of the content used by the Behavior Protection engine. I think that the signatures can be found in "C:\Program Files\Cisco\AMP\apde\apde.sigs" and the components are in "C:\Program Files\Cisco\AMP\apde\amsi\apde.sigs", but I could be mistaken on that.

{
	"version": "v1.2.0",
	"metadata": {
		"links": {
			"self": "https://api.amp.cisco.com/v1/event_types"
		},
		"results": {
			"total": 6
		}
	},

"data": [
        {
            "id": 553648222,
            "name": "Threat Detection",
            "description": "A Behavioral Protection signature has been triggered due to events on the endpoint meeting its criteria"
        },
        {
            "id": 2164260955,
            "name": "Component Download Failure",
            "description": "Component download failed"
        },
        {
            "id": 553648218,
            "name": "Component Download Success",
            "description": "Component downloaded"
        },
        {
            "id": 2164260957,
            "name": "Signature Set Update Failure",
            "description": "Signature set update failed"
        },
        {
            "id": 553648220,
            "name": "Signature Set Update Success",
            "description": "Signature set updated"
        },