Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco PIX Will Not Pass Traffic

Background:

I recently acquired an old Cisco PIX 515e and I have been playing around with it. This is my first attempt at a firewall config. I am using it in routed mode and it is running EIGRP. It's neighbor, a 2821, is running EIGRP as well and the two are set to be neighbors. When i view the routing table I am able to see all the routes on each of the devices, so I believe EIGRP is working correctly. 

Setup:

On the PIX, Ethernet 0 is set with an IP address of 172.16.32.2 and is connected to Gigabit Ethernet 0/1 on the 2821 with an IP address of 172.16.32.1. The inside interface of the PIX, Ethernet 1, is 192.168.32.1. The 2821 has the 192.168.12.0 network as well as the 192.168.13.0 network. In order to get to the internet a ADSL WIC card is installed in the 2821 with a DHCP address, the 2821 has a gateway of last resort set to the ISP's gateway. One the PIX the gateway of last resort is set to 172.16.32.1.

Issue:

My issue is that from the PIX I am able to ping everything from the 192.168.12.0 network and the 192.168.13.0 network, and even ping internet addresses; however, nothing from the outside of the PIX is able to ping anything on the inside of the PIX (the 192.168.32.0 network). Along with that nothing on the inside of the PIX is able to ping anything but the inside interface of the PIX. I had added several access-lists to try to resolve the issue but so far have not had any luck resolving the issue. I did read through my research that traffic should be able to flow from a more secure interface to a less secure one no problem and you just need to set up access-lists fro inbound traffic, which is what I thought I had done. 

Thoughts: