cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Understanding ASA/FW operation

Trey Grun
Level 1
Level 1

ASA Newbie here.  I couldn't find this exact thread so far - although I saw a number of similar threads.  I understand the role of a FW as a stateful connection monitor, the organization of interfaces into "zones" of varying security levels, and understand how routing and NAT works, so I cannot figure out what I DO NOT understand in terms of basic connectivity through a firewall.  Since I'm emulating functionality via GNS3 I'm only really testing with ICMP right now.  I read that the connectionless nature of ICMP makes it something a firewall can't monitor the state of so that unless a "conduit" (pix language I know) or specific ACL is configured to allow this.  Topologically, I'm having the same basic problem as outlined here: https://supportforums.cisco.com/message/3306478#3306478

I can ping to and from the local fw interfaces, but traffic THROUGH the firewall fails.  My basic config is:

Inside Interface:

ip add 10.0.0.1 255.255.255.0

nameif inside

security-level 0

Outisde Interface:

ip add 192.168.137.2 255.255.255.0

nameif outside

security-level 100

Route:

ip route 0 0 192.168.137.1 1

Nat/Pat:

nat (inside) 1 10.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 (I honestly don't understand the need for the "1" here or in the PAT statement)

global (outside) 1 192.168.137.2

I thought that would've been enough - but apparently not.  I have not tried to implement the solution suggested in the thread I cited, mostly because I'm not sure I understand why those dozen configuration lines would be needed to allow a simple ICMP through the ASA.  That's most important to me.

I got the "IMCP is not monitorable/stateful info from the PIX/ASA handbook, which neglects to offer an easily understandable solution to my issue, and I have not finished going through this link: http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/vpndevc/ps2030/products_tech_note09186a0080094aad.shtml#topic2