Views
Helpful
Replies

What is the difference among Normal ACL, crypto ACL, ACL Manager

viral_cisco
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am new to Cisco Site to site VPN. I have deployed new site to site VPN. Request help to understand few concepts.

1). i need to understand the basic difference among Normal ACL, crypto ACL, ACL Manager.

2). If i want to pass my traffic through VPN rather than direct open internet, where exactly i should make ACL entry?  is NAT Exempt mandatory?

3). If i make same ACL entry in Normal ACL rules and also in Crypto ACL rules, which one will be preffered for sending traffic?

4). what are the available commands on CLI for checking whether specified traffic is going through VPN or direct open internet? is there any what to verify the same on ASDM?

1 Reply 1

Jouni Forss
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi,

I guess you are partly referring to the terms used in the ASDM Configuration section.

I dont personally use ASDM really all that much as I do most configurations through CLI so I might not be familiar with all the terms used on ASDM side.

Generally speaking the terms you mention mean the following

• Normal ACL I assume refers to the ACLs that you are using on the ASA interfaces to control traffic. These ACLs are usually attached in the inbound direction to the ASA interface in which case they control traffic that is coming from network behind that interface towards (inbound) to that interface. In other words they are heading out towards some destination hosts behind a different ASA interface. There is usually no need to define a outbound ACL.
  • Crypto ACL usually refers to the ACL you define in a L2L VPN configuration to define the local/remote networks of the VPN Connection. This tells the ASA between which networks or hosts traffic should be forwarded through VPN and through which VPN. I guess a Split Tunnel ACL in VPN Client setups could also be called a Crypto ACL but to me it usually refers to L2L VPN connections ACL