Views
Helpful
Replies

Firewall with a Dynamic IP address

alangohek
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All,

I am a network administrator of my company and are pretty new to the IT industry. May I sought your valued advice on the following issues.

My company is using ADSL to access the internet. The ADSL plan provide us with a dynamic ip address. All the PCs in the company connect to the internet using a ADSL router. We do not have any public server. We have about 50 computers currently. We have a Win NT 4.0 Domain.

Based on my company networking setup above, do you think I need to acquire a Cisco firewall ? If yes, which model will you guys recommend

I am thinking of getting PIX 515R but isn't sure whether it is suitable or not.

Please provide me your valued advice.

Thanks and best Regards,

Alan

10 Replies 10

rrbleeker
Level 1
Level 1

Alan,

Based on the information you provided I think a Cisco PIX506 will do the job for you. It has sufficient forwarding rate (8Mbps cleartext). If, however, you require a third interface for future use, I would recommend the 515.

Hi rrbleeker,

May I check with you whether PIX 506 and 515 support dynamic IP address ?

Thanks and Regards,

Alan

Dynamic IP address is supported on Version 5.2 and above.

Regards,

Ron

Hi Ron /All,

Does it means that PIX 506 and 515 support dynamic IP address ?

If yes, how do I go about doing it ?

Thanks,

Alan

brford
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Alan,

Do you need a firewall? I'd suggest the answer is yes. You have 50 computers you want to protect from threats on the Internet. A firewall will give you a policy enforcement point at which you can implement a security policy that the people who use those 50 computers will need to abide by. You need to talk with company management and come up with a basic security policy. A good starting point would be to define an acceptable use policy that defines what is and is not allowed to be accessed via the corporate Internet connection.