cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Opening up for a disaster?

ChuckDLC
Level 1
Level 1

Greetings. I am new to Cisco PIX firewalls. I am learning though. We have just recieved a PIX 506E that my boss wants to set up. I know it defaults to being closed to all incoming traffic. I was at the point where I felt I opened the ports needed to run Exchange 2000 and a few other things that people needed to do, however, my boss came to me just 1 hour ago telling me to open all ports and then close them as attacks come up. I flet this was a bad idea and whenever I made a good point and he had to think of a reason why we need to have the port open he would resort to, "Do as I say". So now I am looking for a quick and easy way to just open all ports. I would then create Deny rules to close them again. Can anyone help me?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

access-list outside_access permit ip any any

access-group outside_access in interface outside

However, the ASA algorithm on the PIX will still be checking for sequence number violations, malformed packets, etc.. You will also need to setup your xlates to allow the external clients to build conns to the inside hosts. One way to do this is:

access-list nonat permit ip any any

nat (inside) 0 access-list nonat

Good luck.

Scott

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6

travis-dennis_2
Level 7
Level 7

That is the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard. Try to get him to put that order in writing or in an e-mail to cover you a** and also put in writing your objections and that you are doing this under duress. I know how to accomplish the task but I'll be damned if I will be a party to that madness.

Yeah, well, I have both in writing and his boss signed it. I guess thats what ya get for working in government.

Well prepare for some attacks coming your way. You have the branch of the government that you work for listed here. Not everyone here is a nice guy like me. You have my condolences.