cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

RV320 - setting up to use PPTP (with automatic IP, DNS and server name as address)

David-D
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, I have a Cisco RV320 router

I want to set it up to use a PPTP connection

I am having 4 problems setting it up:

(I am not a professional in networking just a simple home user...)

1. They said I should have the router obtain the IP address automatically but I don't see how to do this on the router
  2. Same for the DNS, it should obtain automatically
  3. They provided me an address for their server (e.g. vpn@server.com), not an IP, but the router doesn't seem to allow that rather only numbers for an IP address
  4. I also need to set it to "No encryption" but I don't know where that setting is

If anyone can help I would really appreciate it

Thanks,

David

P.S. Elsewhere I have an Asus router and the setup was rather easy as all these settings were right on the WAN settings page and I was able to set it as described above.

5 Replies 5

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

David

The RV320 is not something that I have much experience with, and if someone else in the forum does have experience with it I hope they will jump in on the discussion. But here is what I think about your questions.

1) To have the router obtain the address automatically you generally just set the router interface to use DHCP. Then when the router interface is connected and becomes active it will send a DHCP request and be assigned an IP address.

2) When you set the router interface to use DHCP it should also learn the DNS server address as part of the DHCP negotiation.

3) If you are learning the address via DHCP then I am not clear what they expect you to do with their server address. Perhaps it is called for in the setup for PPTP?

4) I am not sure about the no encryption and guess that it is specified in the setup for PPTP.

Anyone else in the forum want to jump in?

HTH

Rick