cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Inquiries regarding SD-Access topology(Components).

hjson0001
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, All.

I have some inquiries regarding SD-Access topology. I am a beginner of SDA network.

Usually there is a control plane node in conceptual SDA topology ppt document.

It is sometimes located in local fabric cloud between Border node and Edge Node, and sometimes located in outside server-farm cloud.

1) Which place is to be right? and does this have to be independently with Border switch? or Border can roll over at the same time? It looks like something for control plane exists. The picture in ppt document makes me confused.

2) Where does the wireless controller install? Does this connect to Border Node directly or can be installed outside server-farm? 

3) What is difference between 2-tier Architecture and 3-tier Architecture? 2-tier has only border/edge on the other hand, 3-tier has intermediate node more. My partner engineer has planned 4 C9606-R switches for border, however I can't understand why four backbone switches needed. Or does border node can consist of 4-switches not 2 switches?

4) I want to see real sda network diagram including border/edge/wlc/dnac/ise/stealthwatch/cabling, not a conceptual diagram :) Does anybody have this one?

Ask to be excused for my ignorance

Thank you all in advance.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Scott Hodgdon
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

hjson0001,

1. The  Control Plane Node just needs IP connectivity to  the Edge and Border nodes. Generally speaking, it is better to co-locate the Control Plane with the Border node, but some customers choose to locate Control Planes in their own hardware for HA purposes (they don't want to lose both Border and Control Plane services if one platform fails). Since most customers deploy redundant Border nodes, in my experience most also co-locate the Border and Control Plane.