Views
Helpful
Comments
admin_2
Level 3
Level 3

Martin Heusinger

mheusinger - Martin Heusinger

Martin Heusinger works as a senior technical instructor for Global Knowledge, the world's largest privately held provider of training and enterprise learning services for information technology (IT) and management professionals. About NetPro, he says, "It's impressive that so many people are willing to share their networking knowledge for the benefit of others."

BACKGROUND

Q. How long have you been in the networking industry and why did you get involved in it?

A. When I had nearly finished my Ph.D. in Physics, in 1997, a friend suggested I might want to investigate networking. My first thought was that networking had little to do with Physics. But I was a student with little spending money, and when I heard how much money I could earn per day as a freelancer, I was impressed. This friend taught me the basics of networking and I took some classes, and then I started as a freelancer. Networking was fun! My friend and I developed networking workshops, and later I was hired by a company that was bought out by Global Knowledge. I have since earned my CCIE certification in WAN switching.

Q. What does Global Knowledge do?

A. Global Knowledge offers a wide variety of skills training, including both standard and custom classes for Cisco as well as other companies. We have offices in 20 countries, and I'm based in Germany. In 2006, we received the Learning Solutions Partner of the Year award from Cisco. I teach classes at all levels, from beginner to CCIE.

CHALLENGE

Q. How did you hear about NetPro?

A. I visit Cisco.com frequently because my students constantly bombard me with good questions. I stumbled upon NetPro by chance when I used the search function and found a NetPro forum. After reading the posts for a couple of weeks I started to post, as well.

Q. What did you try to achieve by subscribing to NetPro?