cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

AnyConnect Management VPN Tunnel, Split-Include ACL

cfitzgerald
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all. I am working on getting a Management VPN Tunnel working with AnyConnect and my FTD headend. (Management VPN Tunnel is not officially supported on FTD, but I have it mostly working. I think the only unsupported feature of M-VPN on FTD is Custom Attributes.)

I already have my "user tunnels" configured with the split tunnel setting =  "Tunnel all traffic" in the Group Policy.

The Management VPN instructions from Cisco state: "The group policy for this tunnel group must have split include tunneling configured for all IP protocols with client address assignment configured in the the tunnel group"

I have never used split-include tunnelling before, I'm not sure exactly what I should put in the ACL? All of my internal subnets? Only the subnets I want allowed during M-VPN? Do I need a bi-directional extended ACL?

I don't want the client to really be able to send traffic outside of the VPN, but I don't want the M-VPN to have access to the entire internal network. For example, I want SCCM to be able to update the client over M-VPN, but I don't want the clients Outlook/email to work until they sign in to the user tunnel.

Any suggestions for a best practice here? thanks in advance!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi,
Good job on getting it mostly working :)

I'd put all of your internal subnets in the split tunnel ACL and then use the Access Control Policy (ACP) to limit traffic via port/protocol. If using RADIUS for authentication/authorisation you could authorise based on the M-VPN tunnel group and apply a unique IP Pool (different to the User's VPN) and therefore apply different access control (e.g. SCCM only) compared to the User VPN. You would then authorise the User's VPN and apply a different set of access controls.

If you do not wish for the client to have traffic outside of the tunnel, tunnel all traffic and then rely on the ACP.