cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Importing HA 2 ACE 4710 into ANM 4.1

rhussaini
Level 1
Level 1

I am New to ACe Loadbalancers. We have just installed the ANM4.1 and we are trying to import both appliances into the ANM4.1. Is there somthing I sould be aware off before I do the Install.? The question is when O do the Import does the ANM will have my config from the aces AS IS untouched. I am making sure that the ANM will not delete my config on the ACES

Thanks

1 Reply 1

sachinga.hcl
Level 4
Level 4

Hi Hussaini,

As per best practice I would like you to make sure that you have taken the backup of all the context of ACE using running config and saved it separately other then the device itself so at any point of contingency your hard work for configuring the box should not go in vain and you be ready for any kind of situation post import into ANM.

When you install ANM for the first time you need to add a license from the command line before you can access ANM.

ANM requires licenses to manage virtual devices and to run the ANM server or servers.

ANM checks against the licensed Virtual Context count on each ACE.

Thus if you have the ACE-VIRT-020 license on the ACE, to manage that ACE you must have an available ANM-AV-020 installed on the managing ANM. Even if that ACE to be managed has 5 or fewer defined Virtual Context or so.

BTW..if at *any* time you get stuck in an operational bind due to ANM licensing, go to www.cisco.com/go/licensing, select the first link for evaluation licenses, and from there select to get evaluation license PAK for ANM. This will allow you to install the evaluation license that is *unlimited* for 90 days. Hopefully that is plenty of time to order the additional licensing you need for production operations.

For each ACE with ACE-VIRT-020 ANM needs qty 1 of ANM-AV-020.
Same for 050, 100, 250.

ANM uses the following protocols for communication:

For communication to an ACE module or appliance:

–XML over HTTPS

–SSHv2 (read and write)