Views
Helpful
Replies

Umbrella VA query

sv7
Level 3
Level 3

Hi All,

Im new to umbrella and want some guidance which help me in implementation of my project.

My Client has 12 location and every locations has its own isp address gateway to reach internet. As per their requirement they will deploy 1 VA at their DC and 1 VA at their DR. Purpose of deploying the VA is to collect internal IP address for users sitting on-prem.

So my question is would deploying 1V at DC and 1VA at DR would sufficient for umbrella to track internal ip address for all location.  Also is it possible to track/record internal ip address of user machine withour using VA.

Another question is would i need to Add umbrella public IP address in Domain Controller dns forwarder or i can add VA ip address so my user would reach both internal(intranet)  and external domain (internet)

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi @sv7,

As per Cisco's guide, it is required to deploy VAs in pairs. Once deployed, your VA becomes key point for your DNS traffic - you configure VA address to your clients. Any failure or suboptimal path (like bunch of queries from primary to DR location) could have severe consequences and negative visibility for you. Also, existance of pair of VAs makes upgrades hitless. VA resource requirements are quite minimalistic, and I would advise to follow the guidelines and to deploy pair of VAs per site.

BR,

Milos

View solution in original post

9 Replies 9

@sv7 

This information is contained within the Umbrella documentation....

https://docs.umbrella.com/deployment-umbrella/docs/1-introduction

Without Virtual Appliances
Security and DNS traffic-related investigations cannot be traced back to an individual computer or IP address.

If not using a VA you could....

https://docs.umbrella.com/deployment-umbrella/docs/anyconnect-umbrella-roaming-security-client-administrator-guide