Views
Helpful
Replies

Ansible gather_subset for NXOS failing with command timeout triggered

secureB00T
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all, 

Hopefully someone might be able to help out. I've been wrestling with this for a while.  I'm fairly new to ansible and trying to run a playbook against a pair of nexus switches that will change the description of ports based on the information it gets from cisco.nxos.nxos_facts ( using cdp neighbor information).  I've run this in a lab environment successfully but when running against our live environment, it fails.  

This is the playbook i'm trying to run:

********************************************************************************************************************************

---
- name: Set interface description based on CDP/LLDP discovery
  hosts: SDS
  gather_facts: yes
  connection: network_cli

tasks:

- name: GATHER ALL NXOS LEGACY FACTS
    cisco.nxos.nxos_facts:
      gather_subset:
        - all
      gather_network_resources:
        - all

# log messages to specified folder
    vars:
      ansible_persistent_log_messages: True

- name: VIEW facts gathered
    debug:
      var: ansible_facts.keys()

- name: VIEW CDP/LLDP NEIGHBORS
    debug:
      var: ansible_facts.net_neighbors

#  - name:  SET NXOS INTERFACE DESCRIPTIONS
#    nxos_config:
#      lines:
#        - description {{item.value[0].host.split('.').0}}:{{item.value[0].port[0:3]}}{{item.value[0].port.split('t')[-1]}}
#      parents: interface {{item.key}}
#      save_when:  changed
#    with_dict:  "{{ansible_facts.net_neighbors}}"
#    when: ansible_network_os == 'nxos'

********************************************************************************************************************************

I've commented out the bottom portion until I get the 'gather_subset' part working.  in the meantime, the error messages I get are these:

The full traceback is: