Replies

Trouble with removing embedded object groups in ASA 5580 code 8.4(4)1

wingchingleung
Level 1
Level 1

Model: Cisco ASA5580-40

Code version: 8.4 (4)1

Device Manager version 6.4(9)

I have been running this code since Jun of 2012 and so far everything seem to be working just fine until recently when I started on a project to clean up some embeded object groups I start running into this wierd error. Our company has been going through somre restructuring process and simplified the VPN groups so I was asked to clean up all the old VPN groups (which happen to be created in ACL objects and embedded within other ACL object groups). This problem seem to be happening on a random basis so I am not sure if it is a bug issue.

To illustrate, for instance  I am trying to delete the embedded office instructure VPN address space

object-group network hosts_able_to_ssh_to_server123

group-object limited-i_remote_vpn_address_space

group-object office_infrastructure_remote_vpn_address_space

Normally I only need to get into the object group for ssh to server123 and do a:

asa5580-001-la(config)# object-group network hosts_able_to_ssh_to_server123

asa5580-001-lax06(config-network-object-group)# no group-object office_infrastructure_remote_vpn_address_space

BUT I ran into this error:

Removing obj from object-group (hosts_able_to_ssh_to_server123) failed;

obj does not exist in this group

Has anyone else encountered this error

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi,

Does seem that it should work just fine. Especially when we are just removing an "object-group" inside another "object-group"

I went through some Bug IDs and this was the only one I could fine on a quick look that could match with your situation. Then again it doesnt really provide any usefull information either

Click on the picture to view a bigger version of it

Maybe its a bug. Doesnt seem that there is very specific information about it on the site either.