Views
Helpful
Replies

Creating an SFTP job using a Unix Agent

stevejj11
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All,

I was wondering if anyone in this forum has created an SFTP job using a Unix Agent via the T.E.S. GUI?  If so, how do you go about doing this?  I am new to Unix, since I operate in a pure windows environment and am trying to learn the basics of Unix and shell scripting. 

I know how to set up an FTP and SFTP job using a Windows agent, but don't know how to do it with the Unix agent? I tried, but am having issues and getting errors in the job output that keep telling me that the "Connection is refused."   Do you have to use shell scripts to do this?  Any help and/or feedback would be much appreciated.  Thanks!

-Steve

6 Replies 6

Joe Fletcher
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

There can be a number of complexities here including whether or not your target unix machine has a suitable sftp service available.

You may find you get some mileage from adding the following to the agent.ini file at the unix end:

SSLVLDCRT=N

Cheers

I'm using sftp (i have no issues connecting) but my problem is how to pass sftp command in the command parameters.

Usage: sftp [-vC1] [-b batchfile] [-o option] [-s subsystem|path]
            [-F config] [-P direct server path] [-S program] [-B buffer_size]
            [-R num_requests] [user@]host[:file [file]]

here's how I do this

1.  create the TES job on linux agent:

command:  /bin/bash

parameter:  /path/to/shell/script.sh

2.  on your linux system, install sshpass.   You can look this up and see how to install it.  If you need assistance in installing it, contact me and I can provide more detailed instructions.

3.  create shell script.   This is the shell script that you call in your job created in step #1.  Only use the portions after ---begin--- and before ---end---.  Populate the variables with your own.  This script will download a file (or files if you use the wildcard) and delete them from the remote server

---begin---

#!/bin/bash