Views
Helpful
Replies

AAA Authorization named authorization list

david.mitchell
Level 1
Level 1

Ladies and Gents,

Your help will be greatly appreciated – I am currently studying CCNP Switch AAA configuration and I work with a tacacs+ server at work butI having difficulty getting my head around the below

Cisco.com extract below

When you create a named method list, you are defining a particular list of authorization methods for the indicated authorization type.

Once defined, method lists must be applied to specific lines or interfaces before any of the defined methods will be performed. The only exception is the default method list (which is named "default"). If the aaa authorization command for a particular authorization type is issued without a named method list specified, the default method list is automatically applied to all interfaces or lines except those that have a named method list explicitly defined. (A defined method list overrides the default method list.) If no default method list is defined, local authorization takes place by default.

My question is how do you define the Named Method List i.e. the none-default method list?

I don't mean the cisco switch config but how the list is created, is this on the tacacs+ server and the referred to in the CLI?

Any help would be much appreciated as I have read over tons of documents and I can’t see how this is created

Thanks in advance

David

2 Replies 2

Travis Hysuick
Level 1
Level 1

Hi David,

An example of a named AAA list might look something like this:

aaa authorization exec TacExec group AAASrv local