Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco ISE Certificates

alliasneo1
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I'm new to Cisco ISE and I'm trying to get my head around how it all works.

Can I ask, how do you know which certificate in ISE a computer will authenticate against?

I'm setting up ISE to use EAP-TLS using a trusted root certificate and I have the certificate chain uploaded to ISE but I'm just wondering how you actually say to ISE, I want you to use this certificate that is coming from the computer/end user machine?

thanks

3 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

@alliasneo1 its the "EAP Authentication" certificate within ISE that is used for client (user/machine) authentication. When you specify the usage you can use the same certificate for different roles or unique certificates.

FYI, here is the ISE certificates guide - https://community.cisco.com/t5/security-knowledge-base/how-to-implement-digital-certificates-in-ise/ta-p/3630897

View solution in original post

Not from here, the one you shared is to tell ISE to present that cert when it negotiates EAP authentication with the endpoints. However, if you look at the certificates trusted store in ISE, and you select the root or intermediate CA certificate which would be the issuer of the endpoints certificates, you would see that there is an option selected which is called "Trust for client authentication and Syslog". That is where you tell ISE to trust the endpoints certificates that would be issued by that root or intermediate CA, and to use that cert for EAP authentication. Please note that the cert you define on ISE to be used for EAP authentication (an example in the screenshot you shared) doesn't necessarily need to be issued by the same issuer as the endpoints certificates. However, it is a common and best practice to have that cert alongside the endpoints certs issued by the same PKI.