Views
Helpful
Replies

ISE 1.4 CRL download verification

Johannes Luther
Level 4
Level 4

Hi ISE professionals,

today I have a very simple question and hopefully someone will enlighten me :)

Let's assume I configured a trusted CA certificate with a CRL distribution URL and I download the CRL some time before it expires.

How can I verify if this actually worked? Of course when CRL download fails I assume I get a Error Message. But what I want is a log message somewhere to verify that it worked.

Has anybody an idea if there is a log file or report where I can verify the download?

5 Replies 5

nspasov
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Johannes-

Let me start by saying that you should look into configuring OCSP (Online Certificate Status Protocol) instead of CRL (Certificate Revocation List). There are many benefits to it. I am not a PKI expert so I will let you google it and consult the a PKI/Cryptography expert but below is a good link about it:

https://www.fir3net.com/Security/Concepts-and-Terminology/certificate-revocation.html

One of the benefits of OCSP is the Diagnostic Report in ISE located under Operations > Reports > Diagnostics > OSCP Monitoring. You can schedule that report and run it let's say every morning and have ISE send you a copy :)

You can configure ISE to automatically check sessions against the CRL/OCSP list by going to:

Administration > System > Certificates > Certificate Management >Certificate Periodic Check Settings

I hope this helps!

Thank you for rating helpful posts!

Hello Neno,

good point - I forgot to mention, that I'm using OCSP as well. Perhaps I explain the use case for CRLs in the combination with OCSP.

Assume a PSN node in a remote office. The OCSP server is only available in the central site and not in every remote office.