Views
Helpful
Replies

MAB Auth but no mac address-table entry

DummyCisco
Level 1
Level 1

Hello Cisco Community,

I'm pretty new to the ISE and die Cisco Catalyst Center so please don't judge me if this is a dump ass question. I want to authenticate a device by MAB (MAC-Bypass). When I connect the device via cable to my switch I get the status that something is connected to the switchport and the speed is also shown. I also have an Link on the device and the switchport, so the cable is not the problem, even tho I switched it twice.

My Problem is that I get no MAC-Address of the connected device. It is a pretty cheap Sensor with a RJ45 Connector but this Sensor is essential for my Project. I think that I have no traffic because why should I. The Sensor is just doing its thing. The Sensor has no possible way to send Information like NTP, SMTP or any other service over the Web-UI. I can just simple change the IP settings of it.  When I try following command I get no MAC-Address of the device which is connected to the switch.

show mac address-table interface <connected-interface>

Is there a possible way to send traffic over the switchport to the connected sensor and get a message back, including its MAC-Address?

Thanks in advance.

7 Replies 7

Show authentication session interface x/x detail

Share this 

MHM

Will give an update when I'm on the switch

Do you have wired authentication enabled on the port?  What is the switch?  What version of ISE?  What do the ISE logs say?  What does the switchport configuration look like?  What does "show authentication session" look like?

https://community.cisco.com/t5/security-documents/how-to-ask-the-community-for-help/ta-p/3704356

Yes I have wired authentication enabled on the port. Every other Device is fine, except the sensor. I have an Cisco Catalyst 9200L. The ISE can says nothing because the switch doesnt communicate with the ise because, there is so mac to give the ISE.