Views
Helpful
Replies

MS SQL Server ODBC Connection in Cisco ISE

jwmolenaar
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Folks,

Since ISE 2.1 ODBC connections are possible. We are about to figure out if we could use our SCCM database during MAB authentication of our desktop.

It seems that only unnamed SQL Instances are allowed. Does anyone know if this is the case? If named instances are possible how do I have to define it? Characters like "/" and "\" are not allowed...
If someone have experience with the ODBC connection in a production environment, could you please share your experience regarding SQL response times and the overall authentication latency?

I'm lookup forward to the responses.

Best Regards, Jan-Willem Molenaar

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

jwmolenaar
Level 1
Level 1

Thanks all for your valued information. After an evening digging into SQL I found a solution. I'm not an expert on SQL or databased at all so any feedback is appreciated.

It turned out that SQL Aliases did the main trick for me. I created an Alias and point that to my named instance.

Because of my lack of knowledge I created this configuration for both 32 bits and 64 bits SQL Native Client 10.0 Configuration. I also don't know if the Cisco ISE solution is depended on one of the two

Alias.PNG

Secondly I created a DNS A record for my alias 'JWM' and used the IP address of the SQL server. Afterwards I verified that a CNAME is also valid.

Infoblox.png

As last item I changed the ODBC connection in Cisco ISE to use the defined Alias.

ISE.PNG

View solution in original post

11 Replies 11

hslai
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Try using port number as "\" does not pass input validation in the Hostname/IP[:port] field.

MSDN …> Connecting to SQL Server with the JDBC Driver > Building the Connection URL says in the section Named and Multiple SQL Server Instances