cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Trustsec third-party access switches possibility

Maxim Bezzubov
Level 1
Level 1

Hi guys I am planning for a Cisco ISE applicability in a new office. We are have the whole network core on Cisco, but access switches have bought Dlink :\. It is not a my decision, but now I have somehow dealing with it. I am not experienced in third-party switches within ISE deployment or dot1x infra itself. As far I know from datasheet those dlink switches supports 802.1x in a some way. I wanna to deploy ISE in the TrustSec way, but have a lot of doubt if It works? Could it SXP helps in that case, how SGT could apply on user access switch port in that way? Does anyone having experience in dlink integration with ise in the trustsec or basic 802.1x?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi Maxim,

hopefully you have watched the YouTube video. You'll see users on the AP being enforced by Trustsec for User to DC flows. The Meraki AP does NOT support TrustSec.

So, in your case, the Dlinks don't support TrustSec either (SGT assignment, SXP, SGACL etc).

The way it works is that users connecting to the Dlink instigate RADIUS requests to ISE. ISE is the device that assigns the SGT and ISE itself sends the IP:SGT mapping to a separate enforcement device via SXP. So SXP is only needed on ISE and the enforcement point, not on the Dlink.

Watch the video again, the AP in the video has nothing to do with TrustSec (and in your case the Dlink wouldn't either). It's the ability of ISE to receive a RADIUS request, map the learned IP to an SGT and send that mapping to an enforcement device over SXP.

I hope that is clear.

The caveat is whether the Dlink can send the correct attributes for RADIUS Authentication and Accounting in order to setup a session in ISE in the first place.

Regards, Jonothan.

View solution in original post

8 Replies 8

Cory Peterson
Level 5
Level 5