cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Allow access to exchange server thru PIX 501

footsandersen
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to the PIX and need to allow a satellite office to access an inside exchange server via Outlook. E2k is currently sitting on my DC, which is on the internet. I want to pull the DC off of the internet, firewall it, and still provide email access to the satellite office.

Please help

19 Replies 19

Be very careful from now, since you are attempting to do two things: set up site-to-site VPN and move the Exchange server.

I suggest de-link the two. First finish your VPN connectivity and test for functionality, since this is the easier of the two tasks.

2 and 3. If you are moving the mail server to the outside of the PIX interface, then that has nothing to do with VPN. Also, there is nothing you need to do on the PIX to allow the requests, again, if the server is going to be on the same subnet as that of the outside interface of the PIX; of-course you need to permit 'smtp' on any router that is on the 'outside' interface of the firewall.

If you are moving mail servers, be sure to follow the best-practices methodology in terms of creating one more MX entry with a higher priority, let it propagate, and then remove the old server etc.,etc.

Hope this is helpful.

Best rgds / Sampath.

1. It depends. It ultimately needs to talk to the internal (behind the firewall) ip address of the exchange server. If you are running WINS and or DNS *internally*, then the hostname of the machine should work.

2&3. You move the exchange box in, you set up a static statement that forwards port 25 from that old, external ip, to the new internal ip. You allow access from everyone to that ip address via an ACL or conduit list, and you should be all set. All inbound internet email connections should travel via the static, and thru the whole from the ACL/conduit, and into the exchange server's smtp service.

Basically, imagine:

Current:

Exchange :1.2.3.4

Pix outside: 1.2.3.5