Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

ASA5505 transparent mode not working

I have a cisco ASA5505 configured in transparent mode. This evening we attempted to plug a couple of new servers in but they simply didnt work, despite our test server working absolutely fine. The server IP's are all in a network object group (the same as the test server) and they're all using the same ACLs etc. I'm relatively new to configuring cisco equipment and was wondering if anyone had any pointers as to what might be going wrong?

the only thing I can think of is a static route I had to add to get the managemet IP to work might be causing problems.

route outside 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 XX.XXX.132.1 1

(IP addresses obfuscated- servers are all in the same range so assume XX.XXX is the same across all IP's).

I've attached the config- any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

James

7 Replies 7

rgruber
Level 1
Level 1

James, can you provide a network diagram?  Was this an exsisting setup or new ASA deployment?  How are you wanting the servers to communicate?

In addition, here are some links that may help until I know a little more what your trying to do.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/vpndevc/ps2030/products_configuration_example09186a008089f467.shtml

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/security/asa/asa84/configuration/guide/mode_fw.pdf

Basic config after 8.4

interface Ethernet0/0

switchport access vlan 10

!

interface Ethernet0/1

switchport access vlan 20

!

interface Vlan10

nameif outside

bridge-group 1

security-level 0

!

interface Vlan20

nameif inside

bridge-group 1

security-level 100

!

interface BVI1

ip address 10.10.10.10 255.255.255.0

!

route outside 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 10.10.10.1

route inside 192.168.1.0 255.255.255.0 10.10.10.254

!

http 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 inside

Hi,