cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Back to Back Cisco ASA Firewall (Internal and External)

VCsupport17
Level 3
Level 3

Hi Community,

I am new with Cisco firewall and need some advice on the network diagram.

We will deploy 2x ASA firewall 5516 with Firepower for external and internal. We will use SG500-X switch in the network for DMZ and LAN.

Based on the diagram and network devices, i need to know if this will work? Also i need some deployment guide on how to implement 2 firewalls with DMZ configuration.

Thank you.

7 Replies 7

VCsupport17
Level 3
Level 3

Hi Community,

I would like to ask what is better design between the below diagrams with two back to back Cisco ASA firewall:

1. DMZ is on external firewall and External firewall (inside interface) is connected directly to Internal firewall (outside interface).

2. A DMZ is in between the External and Internal firewall with DMZ switch connected with each other.

Need your recommendation please.

Thank you.

Both designs will work for sure. I am not sure why you have implemented 2 ASA when we could have achieved with just one ASA. DMZ anyways would be a different segment. And 2 ASA inline is adding to latency because each ASA has to process the traffic as per their configured policies.

If one of the design has to be there, I can just think of below criteria that we can check for the implementation:

- In design 1 , we are adding one more hop between the lan and dmz segment which is not the case in design 2. If the communication between lan and dmz is required/expected and we expect some good amount of traffic(like server backup etc), design 2 should be considered. This is to improve efficiency and take load off the external ASA.

Apart from that, I dont see anything else. This is assuming that both ASA are implemented in similar fashion.

Please let me know if you have any specific requirement/criteria in mind that can be explored.

-

AJ 

Hi AJ,