Views
Helpful
Replies

Certificate Authentication Profile (CAP) option in ISE

bassomarco1998
Level 1
Level 1

Hello everyone,
I'm studying for the SISE exam, and in the chapter (15) of the OCG about authentication via certificate, there's something I don't quite understand. Within the page where the CAP profile (Certificate Authentication Profile) is created, there's an option called "Identity Store".

bassomarco1998_0-1704456113912.png

What's the purpose of this option?
Thank you.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

UPN and ExternalGroup are two different things.

If you want to use an external group in your authorization policy, this information has to be made available. With only the Authentication, the ISE doesn't know anything about the Windows groups. You specify the Identity store in the CAP to tell the ISE which store to query for these groups (or attributes).

These are the steps the ISE takes:

1. The Client is authenticated based on the client certificate. No Windows groups or attributes are known.
  2. ISE takes the Identity store from the CAP and uses the configured field from the certificate to query the store.
  3. The Identity store returns the Window groups and attributes for this identity.
  4. Now, the rules in the Authorization policy are evaluated. Here, you can match the external group because these were made available in the previous step.

View solution in original post

4 Replies 4