Views
Helpful
Replies

Configuration backup and Site-to-Site VPN and failover questions

KevinGueTIS
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am currently in the process of setting up our two new Cisco firewalls (both are 5515-Xs) and have two questions in regards to that, since I'm rather new to ASA configurations.

1. I want to use the configuration of our old ASA (5510), which shouldn't be a big problem, but we have several Site-to-Site profiles in use. What happens with the keys that are defined in those?

Do they get reused and I don't have to worry about anything or do I have to inform the sites and set up new connections with new keys?

2. I want to use a Active/Standby failover configuration, but I don't know how VPN licenses are handled. I currently have a pack that is assigned to the primary unit, but what do I have to do on the secondary device (if anything) in order for it to use the VPN license when the primary unit is not available? I am under the impression that I can't assign the licenses to a second unit, so does the VPN license get reused much like the configuration, MAC address, etc. in a failover scenario?

Thank you for your time.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

1. I want to use the configuration of our old ASA (5510), which shouldn't be a big problem, but we have several Site-to-Site profiles in use. What happens with the keys that are defined in those?

Do they get reused and I don't have to worry about anything or do I have to inform the sites and set up new connections with new keys?

You can pull the keys from the configuration using the more system:running-config this should show you the configured keys.

Also keep in mind that depending on the ASA version you are using ( earlier than 8.3 or 8.3 or newer) on the 5510 you may (or may not) have to convert them to the new NAT configuration and ACLs.