Helpful
Replies

E-Mail Server on Asa

Mesut Canbolat
Level 1
Level 1

Dear All,

My need is for our mailserver is below:

Able to send and receive emails from - to outside internet domains with two public ip addresses from

ISP1 and ISP2. Our Dns records for ourdomain.com are on the ISP1 and ISP2's Name Servers with the same value of MX records 10.

Scenario :

If the link of ISP1 fails email relaying and sending for ourdomain.com will be able to continue from the ISP2 link.

Since we have two same MX 10 records, is the ISP2 link going to receive emails even if the ISP1 link keeps running.

We do appreciate your config examples and advise.

Thanks

Mesut

11 Replies 11

Ajay Saini
Level 7
Level 7

I am not an expert on DNS stuff but below advise is on basis of networking experience:

How is the design actually. Where are the ISPs terminating and are these 2 ISP active at the same time or one at a time. Please confirm the physical setup.

Also, please confirm if the dns reply consisting of mx record values has both entries if you do dns lookup from either ISP or it has just one mx record corresponding to that ISP.

Ideally, if the mx priority values are same, I would expect traffic to be load balanced, but then that depends where that traffic(smtp) goes(which ISP) and that depends on your physical setup.

HTH

-

AJ

Thanks AJ for your reply.

Our physical setup : Asa 5512x     outside0 : Isp1   outside1: Isp2    inside  :  MailServer

Example Ips :

outside 0 :  95.95.95.1 /28   Active

outside 1 :   75.75.75.1 /28  Active   at the same time. Same Mx 10 Records

inside : 192.168.1.1 /24

MailServer : 192.168.1.10 /24    

No Local Network No Clients localy connected. All clients are remote clients ousite IMAP connections.

Please advise , Thanks

Mesut

Ok, so can I assume that this query is all about inbound access needed by outside located clients to internal exchange using IMAP protocol. Or maybe imap over ssl?

Please confirm.

-

AJ