cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

For Finding a Job Should I learn ASA or Firepower/FTD?

hfakoor222
Spotlight
Spotlight

I'm receiving my CCNP Encor this week or next. I've read the cert guide book 4-5x through so I know I am ready.

I also can configure several devices via Python/Ansible.

I've read about 2 textbooks (multiple read throughs) on the Python subject (Eric Chou 2015, J. Goerzen 2004) and am in process of a 3rd which is a 700 page book that only deals with device configs, which is an online free book that the author compiled and posted.

I have experience in cyber fraud forensics, and in database, some database development,. and some oop programming. I have minimal networking experience.

To help me in trying to get a job as a network engineer I decided to learn firewalls.

I've read Richard Leads ASA (2009) book. I will be re-reading it this week.

So far to me it seems like the heavy lifting in does by inspection class maps.

Now I am deciding on to read Cisco ASA All in one textbook or to move on to FTD textbook?

The Cisco ASA all-in-one textbook covers a wide area of topics including 6500-7600 module management, among other things (it seems like an expanded version or Lead's book from the reviews I've read).

https://www.amazon.com/Cisco-ASA-All-one-Next-Generation/product-reviews/1587143070/ref=cm_cr_dp_d_show_all_btm?ie=UTF8&reviewerType=all_reviews

I read a lot that ASA's still being used widely. I did a job search on indeed and ASA and FTD seem to be 50/50. From forum thread which is 5 years old, everyone basically points to ASA being alive and well and being used in enterprises, and you can find a job as network engineer if you know asa (thread is 5 years old).

https://community.spiceworks.com/topic/2097542-which-firewall-is-better-to-learn-asa-or-palo-alto