cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Help with DMZ Interface

dougken444
Level 1
Level 1

I am fairly new to the ASA world. I ran out options, and turning to experts here for help. I have an ASA 5506-X with 4 interfaces. ASA is running OS 9.4(2) and I am using ASDM to configure everything. ASDM is version 7.6

Interface 1: Outside Network 1 Verizon

Interface 2: Inside Network

Interface 3: Outside Network Comcast

Interface 4: DMZ 192.168.1.0/24

There are two outside networks, in case one goes down, it fails over to the second one.

Aside from these interfaces, ASA is also used for VPN connectivity.

My Problem: I have an Skype for Business Edge Server that I would like people to access from outside. The server is connected to the DMZ and has 3 Private IPs Nated to Public IPs. I have created the NAT rules and the server is connected to the internet (meaning i can go on the server and surf the web). I can't for some reason ping the server or connect to it from outside using any of the 3 public IPs. I have opened the necessary ports using ACL, but still no luck. Any idea on how I could get this up and running? I really appreciate any help with this. Like I said, I have researched this a lot and I couldn't find any solutions. I apologize if this question has already been asked.

Config attached

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi Doug,

ACLs are evaluated only once while creation of the connection. So while creating acls keep in mind the direction in which they are applied and evaluate packet flow based on the direction of traffic from source to destination and create appropriate acls to allow traffic.

For example; assume there are two interfaces Inside and Outside. There is an acl acess_in on inside interface in IN direction and there is a acess_out acl on outside interface in OUT direction. If traffic from in to out needs to be allowed then access_in and acess_out both should allow traffic.