Views
Helpful
Replies

hit details on a specific policy

walter steadman
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all,

I am new to the Firewall world and in doing some troubleshooting, I wanted to see if it was possible on an ASA 5505 to see the details of specific hits on a policy

I have an Interface called FrontEnd and I added an any any permit as the last policy on that interface and I see the traffic incrementing so I know that there is some traffic coming in from the FrontEnd interface that is passing by all the other policies on that interface and being allowed by the any any permit

Is there a way to see the details of those hits?  for example the source IP destination IP and destination port?

I am sorry if this question has been asked before, I did search but I might be using the wrong criteria in my search of the forum and the web

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

I do have ASDM up and this specific policy ID on that interface is 5 if that matters

Wally

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

eddie.harmoush
Level 1
Level 1

Absolutely possible.  What you will have to do is enable ACL logging on the "permit any any" ACL in question.

access-list 101 permit ip any any log

This will generate a log message 106100 each time traffic matches the ACL entry in question.  By default, this log message is severity level 6 (informational). 

To avoid having to turn on debugging at this level of detail (and potentially miss the messages you want to see due to other log messages), you can make it so this log message will generate syslog entries at a custome level.  For instance:

access-list 101 permit ip any any log alerts

Now, log message 106100 will appear as a severety level 1 (alerts) message, which will make it much easier to see in the logs.  To enable logging to the buffer, use the following:

logging buffered alerts