Views
Helpful
Replies

How to find sources of non-user configuration changes in FMC 6.6.1

StrikingViking
Level 1
Level 1

Hello Community,

We have an HA pair of Cisco FMC 4500s (6.6.1) managing a pair of Firepower 9300 ACs (2.8.1.125) each housing one FP 9000 SM-24 FTD (6.6.1) in routed cluster mode. I know this mode is not optimal, but we are working with what we have. I am also relatively new to this environment (and NGFWs) and any historical institutional knowledge on this deployment is gone. At some point in the past, the FTDs were migrated from ASAs, I believe.

We often find that the post-deployment transcripts contain lines in the CLI apply for which we cannot identify a source. There are a few different CLI blocks that show up periodically but not necessarily predictably (that we have observed). Cisco TAC has previously been insistent that one of our techs is applying the configurations before the deploys, but these do not show up in GUI audit logs. All usernames in syslog are the built-in system names "Config" and "Enable_1" - syslog is attached.

I have checked for FlexConfigs, scheduled jobs, and any event response actions that I could find that may be modifying configuration, but haven't identified anything. I am sure that my inexperience would be a blocker for thorough discovery, though, so there could certainly be something that I missed.

I am wondering if there are any config changes that may trigger an additional deployment of config that is not obvious to the user, or if there may be events that cause these, some scheduled jobs that add these modifications when they run, possible back-end scripts running that may or may not be remnants of the ASA migration, or an API config push that could be causing these. 

Any insight would be extremely welcome. Thank you very much.