cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Issue With Cisco 5505 not letting data outside.

fostaerou
Level 1
Level 1

I run a dedicated server behind a Cisco 5505, I'm quite new to hardware firewalling and still learning.

The current issue I am having is I am running an application that uses the extrenal IP address to send data from a MySQL database out to clients as they connect and log in from their PC's, the problem I am having is something seems to be blocking data being sent properly outside from outside requests, whena  client logs in to their account, it loads fine and accepts the login, but then when the server process requests the MySQL data and the information for what is stored on their account(such a in game characters) seems to not be sent out and so the client sees their account as empty, not alloing them to progress further.

Upon further testing I also noticed that the FTP I am running has the same issue, I can send a request and it goes through,. however the server denies as it will not send anything abck out to the ftp client, so far the only way I have been able to get both my server application and the ftp to properly function is by routing them via VPN through LogMeIn Hamachi, running both on the Hamachi IP address seems to resolve the issue but this is not ideal, this free VPN service is not as fast or as stable as my actual server network and also requires extra work by client to set up Hamachi on their PC's and enter my Hamachi "room" in order to connect.

So does any more knowledgable person on here know what may be causing my issue and anything I could do to work around it not using such a service as Hamachi so I can get back to using my normal Server IP address, if any additional info on my setup is needed just ask and I'll post it as required.

Thank you in advance for any help.

3 Replies 3

Jouni Forss
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi,