cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Problem with Configuring SNMP on ASA - looks like FTD code

ABaker94985
Spotlight
Spotlight

We have a 5508 running the following software: "Cisco Adaptive Security Appliance Software Version 9.9(2)37"

This is new to me, as the software configures like FTD - when you ssh in, you have to type "system support diagnostic-cli". I've never done that before on ASA code. 

I've attached a couple screen shots. I've been through the GUI and don't see anywhere to configure SNMP. I was able to use flexconfig, but that just doesn't seem right. Can anyone shed some light on this? Thanks

  

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

@ABaker94985 the pictures you attached are the Firepower Device Manager (FDM) on-box GUI. The device is running FTD 6.2.3. The ASA version you mentioned is the embedded LINA code which maps to an ASA software version.

SNMP support on these older FTD versions, especially with FDM management is quite limited. You need to use a Flexconfig similar to what's mentioned here:

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/security/firepower/623/fdm/fptd-fdm-config-guide-623/fptd-fdm-advanced.html?bookSearch=true

As long as you use FDM, that applies even with the latest release (6.7.0.2 as of now).

You may be better served putting the configuration into FMC and managing it from there, including the ability to configure SNMP with a platform policy.

I'd also recommend upgrading to the current recommended release (6.6.4).

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

if this is FTD check the below document ( how you managing this device FDM or FMC ?)

AS A 5508 with Firepower Service Module  or ASA re-imaged with FTD

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/support/docs/ip/simple-network-management-protocol-snmp/213971-configure-snmp-on-firepower-ngfw-applian.html

no screenshot we see to this ticket.

BB

***** Rate All Helpful Responses *****

How to Ask The Cisco Community for Help