Views
Helpful
Replies

restore config to a new ASA5505 on different ASDM version

sai cheng
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

so we have been using our current ASA5505 for a long time. Since it only support up to 10 VPN licenses, so we buy a new ASA5505-SEC-BUN-K9(support up to 25 users).

the old ASA are running: 8.0.3 and ASDM 6.0.3

the new ASA are running: 8.2.5 and ASDM 6.4.5

I thought it would be simple as export and import the config file, but when i tried to restore, the new one is looking for a zip file but the old one doesn;t backup file in ZIP. It  looks like i need to update the ASA version or/and ASDM?

I am pretty new to this and never upgrade any of these versions since I am aware of the upgrade may mess things up.

So do I need to upgrade both the ASA version and the ASDM in order to restore my config?  any effect if i do the upgrade? I also read some articles, we need to upgrade on the version one by one, like 8.0 to 8.1 then 8.2? is that true?  Thanks for your help.

4 Replies 4

Eddy Duran
Level 1
Level 1

Hello Sai,

You can upgrade directly from version 8.0.3 to 8.2.5, there shouldn´t be an issue. It is not a major upgrade. The following link contains the procedure for upgrading the ASDM and ASA version:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps6120/products_configuration_example09186a008067e9f9.shtml

As another option, you can also backup your configuration using the CLI or command line interface:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/vpndevc/ps2030/products_tech_note09186a008072142a.shtml

Hope this works for you.

-Eddy Duran

I tried to download the image files directly from cisco; however, I don't have access to download. I purchased this ASA from a vendor but we didn't purchase SmartNet. Is smartnet required to download these images?

Hi,