Views
Helpful
Replies

SourceFIRE Licensing

geraldschwab
Level 1
Level 1

Greetings Cisco Community,

This is my first time posting here, I appreciate any feedback you can provide on my issue.

I have a quick question regarding how SourceFIRE licenses are installed/handled.

This is my first time deploying Firepower Services but I do have 25 years experience on this platform going back to the PIX Firewall days, so apologies for any n00b unawareness I have with FirePOWER.

Quick recap of my environment -

I have 19x Cisco 5516-X with FirePOWER services

I have 1x Cisco Firepower Management Center 1600

The FMC is running Cisco Fire Linux OS 6.4.0.

My ASA's are running 9.8(4)32 with ASDM 7.16(1)150.

My SFR Modules are running 6.2.2-81

My goal is to have all of the SFR Modules/Censors centrally managed (configured, monitored, licensed, etc) from the FMC.

I've been going back and forth with Cisco Licensing for months trying to get my licenses which I acquired in August installed on this system. 

I finally received 19x individual licenses for URL Filtering product I purchased.

When I tried to install these licenses in the FMC I received the following error and was told by Cisco that I had to install the licenses in the ASDM. This doesn't make any sense to me since the FMC has a section for "Classic Licenses", why would it have that if you need to install the licenses on the individual appliances from ASDM? -

License-Error.png

Incase the above is illegible the error message displayed via the FMC is "License is Invalid/Failed". 

So I said ["OK, even though my devices are only managed from the CLI, and it would be a huge inconvenience to install the ASDM on 19x firewalls only to do a short task like add a license that should be able to be add via the FMC, I said [Why not, let me at least try since this has been dragging out for months now"].