cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
283
Views
5
Helpful
2
Replies
Beginner

What happens when IKEv2 phase 1 policies are deleted on Cisco ASA

Hello All,

 

I'm new to Cisco. Recently, I have come across an issue, when I was building an L2L IPSec VPN tunnel between Cisco ASA and Checkpoint(Peer), I have removed the existing policies on the IKEv2 Phase and added my customized profile. My work was successful but the other tunnel was down. When I checked the tunnel policies, I could see the related policies were removed, only my customized policy was there. I did this through ASDM. I have fixed it since I had the backup. Can someone please clarify why my changes were affected other tunnels?  

 

Regards,

Tim

Regards,
Timothy Gandhiruban
2 REPLIES 2
Highlighted
VIP Advisor

Re: What happens when IKEv2 phase 1 policies are deleted on Cisco ASA

Seems that the policy you removed is used by the other tunnel
Highlighted
Beginner

Re: What happens when IKEv2 phase 1 policies are deleted on Cisco ASA

Hi Mohammed,

Thank you for your response. As you said, I have removed the policy used by the other tunnel. But when configuring a new tunnel, why we need to keep the other policies? When I try to remove the Phase 2 policies, it throwed a pop up that says I cannot delete the predefined policies. But I didn't get any pop up for Phase 1 policies, I was able to remove it? So, is it default behavior of Cisco ASA? Is that how it designed? Please advise.
Regards,
Timothy Gandhiruban