Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel

ASR 920 series routers console port

Views
Helpful
Comments

Hello Everyone,

I am a 20+-year veteran user of Cisco routers and switches but I am fairly new to the ASR 920 series. Recently, I purchased 4 asr920’s for a specialized project. Imagine my surprise when I went to set them up and found that the console port was USB only! Well, no big deal. Since I have hundreds of console cables lying around, I did not order one in this purchase. So, I followed the instructions in the installation manual. I found a type-a   -to-  type-a cable and connected my laptop. I downloaded Cisco’s ‘driver’ and installed it.No good. It did not work. I uninstalled and re-installed a few times but still nothing. I grabbed another computer and tried it. I also got another cable. Still nothing.

I google-researched the issue and learned that, low and behold, the ‘USB’ port is not USB at all, but is plain old rs232. Some dummy (fire this guy!) decided to get creative and use a USB chassis connector for the rs232 serial port. Since I had an immediate need, I researched the pin-outs of the connectors and systems involved. I took a usb cable and cut one end off. The I got a light-blue Cisco console cable and cut the RJ45 end off. I then spliced the two cut ends together. After fiddling with it for a few minutes I had it working. I was able to get ip addresses on each of my four routers and get them connected to my lab network for further configuration.

Now I won’t go into why they would use a usb connector for an rs232 port, or why the installation guide says to connect it to your pc usb port or why they have you install a driver when it is not needed….  Those are thoughts for another day. My purpose here is to share with everyone a simple way to make yourself a console cable for the asr920 that will work and is a bit more elegant than my ‘McGiver’ cable.