Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Comments
ciscomoderator
Community Manager
Community Manager

Marvin RhoadsA network engineer with Presidio, Marvin Rhoads is a top contributor in the Network Management, Optical, and Security Management forums. Asked why he does it, he says, “My main motivation is continuous learning, which is one of the reasons I continue to do hands-on engineering after almost 30 years in the industry. I’ve concluded that the best way to learn something is to teach someone.”

BACKGROUND

How did you get your start in networking?

I became a network engineer in the 1980s, when LANs hardly existed! I’ve worked for several government organizations and a service provider. In the process I’ve acquired expertise with every type of LAN, most protocols, network management, content networking, and optical networking. I have a master’s degree in systems engineering and a bachelor’s in electronics engineering.

What’s your current position?

In 2011, I started my current position with Presidio, working in the security practice. Presidio is a Cisco Gold Certified Partner, the third largest channel partner in North America, and the first Cisco Master Partner for Managed Services, Unified Communications, Security, and TelePresence Video. Working for a partner has given me a broader exposure to the different ways organizations use their networks.

CHALLENGE

How did you discover the Cisco Support Community?

When I started working with Cisco products in 1994, it was a novelty that Cisco offered support on a new thing called the Internet. I stumbled across the community, saw that it contained good information, and have been contributing ever since. Cisco Support Community is the first place I go when I have a question that’s not answered in configuration guides and installation guides.

What do you like about Cisco Support Community?