cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Help With Core Nexus Network Design

brianjaus
Level 1
Level 1

Help ! I am a noob network engineer thrown into a project were the real network engineer is out for weeks with bad flu. I am trying to pick up the pieces and do the best design I can. I put this drawing together based on what info I had. The picture shows the basics. It is a large lab scenario with three different building. The core is Nexus. The original engineer had made recommendations and I am not sure I understand them. I understand the usage of the 3 VDCs, and the VPCs to the 4900s. This seems to avoid the need for Spanning Tree in that segment, but I will still have loops below as I believe the three 4900s are actually in a mesh, and the rack and aisle switches will have redundant connections. So instead of Spanning Tree would I use TRILL ? If so where is the TRILL implemented. I understand that the participating TRILL devices will communicate and then encapsulate the packets with a TRILL header. Which devices would be TRILL enabled and participating ? Also how do I segregate or border myself from production ? The original engineer recommended the 5000 layers at the top to control traffic to production as well as provide Layer 2,3 services. Is this necessary ? What is the best way to control traffic at that layer so I can get to production if I want and vice versa but only based on conditions I see fit. Also do I need the 4th VDC for anything ? And do you typically leaved VDC1 alone as the deafult and use 2,3,4.. etc ? Any help would be appreciated.

Lab_Design.jpg

6 Replies 6

brianjaus
Level 1
Level 1

And one more question, how do I layer in the SAN. I will have to support FC, FCoE, and iSCSI. Should I use something like a 3750 with FC and Gig connections ?

First, I don't see a loop in the diagram on the 4900s south bound to the 3560s. If you are talking about north bound, it is not a loop when vPC is working correctly. It will see the Nexus as a single device.