cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco router to dial up ISP

rleyba828
Level 1
Level 1

I am fairly new to Cisco products being a solid telecoms guy the past many years.

I just took my ICND course a few weeks ago and now want to get up to speed as quickly as possible on any Cisco router product to get some experience.

To get some practice, is there any cheap Cisco SOHO router (one that I can get off e-bay) that would allow me to dial up to my ISP and establish a normal intrnet connection? In other words, instead of my XP machine doing the PPP link,. I connect my Win XP machine to the router and I let the router do the out-dial?

Someone lent me a 2610 and a 1600 but I have no idea how to configure these boxes for ISP dial (and what WIC s are required.

many thanks.

I

4 Replies 4

marinos_g
Level 1
Level 1

try this link. You'll find Cisco product portofolio

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/routers/index.html

I guess you are looking for something like SOHO 7x, SOHO 9x, 800, 1600, 1700 series.

Maybe you want to have a look on this as well.

http://linksys.com/products/

Linksys is a division of Cisco Systems, Inc, provider of secure, easy-to-use home networking products.

You have everything you need already with the 2610 except, perhaps, the cable required to connect the AUX port to an external modem. Dial on demand using the AUX port is a common configuration and there are multiple example configs on http://www.cisco.com. Be aware that there are some IOS bugs which can make it a little more challenging, so if one approach doesn't work, try another (e.g., you can do DDR with dialer maps on interface Async65 or use a dialer bound to the Async interface with either dialer maps or dialer profiles). Bottom line: lots of learning opportunities.

The trick is you either need a router with an AUX port or you'll need to buy a sync/async interface for the router. The AUX port only does async, a separate card gives you other challenges to attack.