Views
Helpful
Replies

Access Issues: DMZ to Inside

iainkilner
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

I am a relative newbie to the PIX systems, but have a real funny with my current config.

I have a web server on a DMZ that is talking to a SQL server quite happily over 1433 on the inside interface - so I know my translation exemption rules and routeing is good.

When I try to get the web server to talk to the SQL using MSDTC (I have locked the ports down to a known range using Microsoft's recomendation) - it appears to teardown the connection just before the reply comes back from the SQL box.

I have seen reference to Asymetric traffic - but as far as I can tell this only applies to non directly connected interfaces.

I have even setup a rule to allow all IP traffic from web server to SQL and SQL to Web and it still fails. Needless to say if the boxes are sat on the same subnet, there is no issue.

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

Regards

Iain

6 Replies 6

harishtandon23
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

Please send the sh tech output of the pix and the syslog messages. so that i can try to fix the problem for you.

If you have any questions, please free to contact me.

Thanks & Regards,

Harish Tandon

harishtandon23@gmail.com

Hi Harish, Thanks for the offer - I have commented out passwords and public IP's

10.10.10.80 is the Webserver in DMZ

172.14.0.21 is the SQL server on inside

Just to add to the problem - from my XP machine I can get to the PDM on the external interface no worries. When I try to get to the PDM on the inside - it hangs. I can telnet to the inside from my XP PC - but doing a sh run - it hangs.

From a w2k machine on the same network - I can get to PDM on in and out and telnet and do sh run no issues??? Am completely PIX'd off with the thing...

Error messages and config attached - as you can see it tearsdown the connection, just before the reply...