Views
Helpful
Replies

design issue

namiky
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Peter,

I am studying on a project that we want to use VPN.

There are 18 sites. 15 of them have few users (at most 5) and 3 of them have more. We choose the following products. Do these products suitable for this project.

There are totally 50-60 users at remote sites.

At central site : 2611 and VPN,IOS firewall

At 3 site : 1750 VPN

Other 15 sites : 805 VPN

At 3 site we will use leased line, and at other siters we will use analog dial-up.

At 3 site we want use VoIP. All sites will go to internet.

We need only IP. and We will use terminal server on central site

thanks..

3 Replies 3

murabi
Level 4
Level 4

Well, I see your biggest problem being the 1750’s don’t support MGCP (Media Gateway Control Protocol) which is what call manager uses to control a standalone gateway. Let’s assume your gateway will be at the central site the 2600’s and 3600’s will both provide MGCP support in the future. If you plan to have a local gateway at the remote sites you better get at least 2600’s and maybe even a 3600 at the central site. They will both handle the VPN, IP, CBAC (Firewall) fine.

Cisco has a good white paper on this. You might want to check it out.

http://www.cisco.com/warp/public/cc/pd/ga/prodlit/gatwy_wp.htm

briggs.simon
Level 1
Level 1

A couple of comments and suggestions about this design:

1. Buy a bigger router at the core, assuming that the core router will also be handling the VoIP and the Internet traffic from that site you will bring a 2611 to its knees with the processing you are attempting.

2. VoIP on a VPN is very tricky business, unless you are using a private IP backbone (AT&T and MCI offer these with great SLAs) I would avoid VoIP over a VLAN at all costs.